Math Talk

Today we did our first Math Talk. Before beginning, we discussed how Math is everywhere around us. I explained to students that we will be learning about many different things in Math this year like shapes, numbers, patterns, etc. After, I showed the class this picture.


Then, I asked the class to tell me their Math thinking.


I noticed that patterns were a big focus of today’s math talk… Not surprising, as we have been learning a lot about patterns lately. I encouraged the students to think about other math topics, like shapes and numbers next time. For example: I see 3 bears sitting and 3 bears standing. I see 6 bears in total. As time passes, our Math Talks will grow in depth and breadth, as we learn about new topics and become more comfortable using our eyes and words to identify Math. 

Home Connection: Next time you are sitting in a waiting room, grab a magazine, find a picture and try having a Math Talk with your child. Start by saying: “Tell me about your Math thinking”. You will be surprised with what they can see!

Leave a Reply

